Something Borrowed – Emilly Griffin

What’s it about: 

Rachel and Darcy are best friends since forever. They grow up together, made high school and even throught college, they still were best friends. But, in this friendship, Darcy was the star – the prettiest, the funniest – , and Rachel has always been at the second place. So, when Rachel reaches thirty, there’s Darcy too, like she thought. Nothing else of what Rachel imagined to herself is there, though. No dream job, no children, no husband. Darcy, on the other side, has everything – including Dex, her beautiful and patient fiancè – whom Rachel introduced to her. Then, somehow after some drinks Rachel makes out with Dex. Now, things get complicated when she has to deal with her feelings for him and her loyalty to her friend.


What I thought:

My first thought was: ‘there is no way for I like a novel with best friend’s betrayal.’ At the first page I was already hating Darcy, though. But I had so many questions during the reading, and the most important was: Why someone will ever have a bitch as her best friend?

The fact is that I’m such a romantic and sometimes I kind of liked the feelings between Rachel and Dex.

Most of the time I got pissed with Rachel’s personality or her lack of it. She could’t recognize her feelings for the guy? Okay, I can handle that. But how can’t she know who is her best friend indeed? Is she blind? Oh my God, I just wanted hit her!

Well, after all, things get better and the final confrontation was really funny – a little sad, but funny! And the end is kind of cute too.

Despite all these bad things, the writter still makes you get stuck in the reading! It really surprised me! I definitely will read another of her books!


What I loved:

  • Emily Griffin’s writing – it’s awsome!
  • The New York background
  • Some parts of Rachel and Dex’s romance.
  • Ethan ❤ (yes, I actually have a inclination to like the wrong guy)

What I didn’t like:

  • Rachel’s passivity. What kind of person takes 30 years to realize that your best friend is actually a bitch?
  • Main character with with low self-steam. This thing of ‘she is the prettiest, the funniest’ is really boring.
  • Dex’s lack of pro-activity
  • The lack os loyalty of their friendship – to me it’s not a friendship at all.

Note: ❤ ❤ ❤

“But I have learned that you make your own happiness,

that part of going for what you want means losing something else.

And when the stakes are high, the losses can be that much greater.”

Leave a comment